ETP Symposium Inc.

Bringing Researchers Together


Stacks Image 215
The Ken Standing Awardee for 2019 - Emma Lundberg, (left to right) Presented by Guy Poirier, Université Laval on behalf of ETP Symposium and University of Manitoba; Conference Chair, Lekha Sleno, Université du Québec à Montréal; Emma Lundberg, Stanford University, Awardee

The Ken Standing Award is presented by the University of Manitoba and ETP Symposium biennially to honour a young scientist who has made a significant contribution to technology development in support of research in the life sciences. Nominees are expected to be 45 years or younger at the time of the nomination. The award is presented at the ETP Symposium and includes a $2500 cash award and a commemorative sculpture. The award winner will be a featured speaker at the symposium. The award honours the career of Ken Standing, Professor Emeritus at the University of Manitoba, who was a major figure in the development of time-of-flight mass spectrometry for bioanalytical applications. The award will be presented next International Symposium on Enabling Technologies. The selection committee will include peer scientists and the ETP Scientific Advisory Committee.

Please see
guidelines for more information.


Previous award winners include:

Dr. Emma Lundberg, Stanford University (2019)
Dr. Leonard Foster, University of British Columbia (2017)
Dr. Benjamin A. Garcia, University of Pennsylvania, Perelman School of Medicine (2015)
Dr. Lars Konermann, University of Western Ontario (2013)
Dr. Daniel Figeys, University of Ottawa (2011)
Dr. Joshua J. Coon, University of Wisconsin, Madison (2009)
Dr. John D. Brennan, McMaster University (2007)

The Standing Award is sponsored in part by:
Stacks Image 2